Finding Happiness

Amia

So today I was going to post an article about a highly controversial topic in society. It was going to be a thought provoking piece that would challenge a lot of people’s minds. And it was going to be a good one (trust me). But I shan’t post it today.

Instead, I wanted to write about something I’m experiencing right now. You might be familiar with it. It comes with many names. Some people call it happiness. Others, joy (did someone call me?)

It starts out as a fluttering feeling in your heart. Feels almost like excitement. As soon as you open your eyes in the morning, you just want to jump out of bed.

Not because you have an important project to complete. No. But because you are full of life. And you want to live like you have never lived before. That is how I feel. Happy.

But why would I be happy? I do not live in a house that resembles a castle, or even close to it. I don’t have a huge closet full of clothes and shoes that I want, but probably don’t need. And no, I did not have bacon and sausages for breakfast prepared by a professional cook this morning.

Simply put, there’s nothing extraordinary about my life. I have few friends, I can count the real ones on one hand. I don’t have a boyfriend, or girlfriend (hehe). I’m not rich. Certainly not popular. But I still have a smile on my pretty face. Shame on me.

But let me tell you what I do have. First and foremost, I have a mother. A mother who loves me more than anything in the world (you love me mum, right?). She is kind, generous and quite intelligent.  

And guess what, she’s one my best friends. You don’t know how lucky I feel for that. I feel as lucky as the guy who’s about to win the next Sportpesa jackpot (I hope it’s you).

She is the most important person in the world to me, so important that I have to share it with the whole world. I simply love her.  Je t’aime maman.

Life is a complex subject; quite impossible to understand it. Every day new questions arise in my mind about what life is. What its purpose is.

But there is one thing I know about it. Life is a journey. Okay, scratch that, everybody knows that. Even my future puppy knows it too.

Let me get serious over here. What I know about life is that it’s meaningful when you’re happy. And many people have come up with theories on what makes life happy. Heck, you will find thousands if not millions of quote pictures about it on Google. Here’s what some of them say:

There is only one happiness in the world, to love and be loved.

Life isn’t about making people happy, it’s about sharing your happiness with others.

The happiness in your life depends on the quality of your thoughts.

One even made up the rules:
Three grand essentials to happiness in life are something to do, something to love, and something to hope for.

Another went straight to the point:
Life is happiness.

As you can see, different people have different ideas on what happiness is. And I agree with them. (Except the last one. I’m not sure about that one).

I do believe that happiness comes from love, true love. That happiness is meant to be shared. Having a purpose in life leads to happiness. And that we have the power to choose. To be happy, or not to be.

It’s no secret. We all want to be happy. We want to have a purpose, something that makes us wake up every day. We want to feel excited and content every living moment. Sadly, that is not possible. This is life after all.

But we still strive, try to be happy. Each one of us has something or someone that makes us happy, or we think will. So we long for them. We pray about them, we daydream about them, we even ask for them. And sometimes we get them.

Many times we don’t. Disappointment follows. Discontent ensues. Unhappiness rules. B

ut I have a new rule about happiness. It has always been there; it’s just that I have constantly ignored it in my inexperienced life. Until now.

Life is a lesson (not happiness). It’s a never ending lesson. And it has sure taught me a lot. Like true happiness does not necessarily originate from getting what you want. But by being content with what you have. Sounds cliche, I know. Like something you’d hear from that friend who thinks they’re a counselor.

The problem with us humans is we are insatiable. We’re like an economy, with limited resources but unlimited wants. So no matter what we get, we always want more. We can never be fully satisfied. So why do we draw something as crucial as happiness on things we are not guaranteed of? On things that might not fully satisfy us?

Over the past week, I have been one unhappy kid. Lost more tears than I probably did as a baby. But through the pain, I found strength. Realized that losing is only the beginning of gaining.

No matter what you lose, there will always be something that will remain, and some that you will gain. What really matters is not what you have lost, but what is left. Once you appreciate what you have, you will be happy.

It’s as simple as that. And once you’re happy, you automatically attract more things to your life that will make you feel happy. You will finally get that career opportunity you want, or that girl or guy you dream about. Gratitude is the force that attracts things that will make you even more grateful.

Gratitude, is The Secret to happiness.

So let me tell you what I’m grateful for today. I am thankful for my beautiful mother, the rock of my world. My ever growing family, my nephew and nieces. I’m grateful for all my friends – old and new – and acquaintances too. For those people who reach out to me randomly, and are willing to give me advice when I need it even though I don’t ask.

I am grateful for the fact that I have identified what I’m good at. For this blog, and for all the people who take time to read what I write. I’m also thankful for finally getting my own radio show, and for those who listen to my ramblings and support my dream.

And lastly, I am thankful for you even if I may have never met you. Because I know you are a human being just like me, who deserves to be happy and have a fulfilled life.

What are you grateful for?

3 thoughts on “Finding Happiness

Leave a Reply

