Going through the emotions – take 2

So a couple of months ago, I wrote quite an emotional piece titled Going through the e-motions. If you haven’t read it yet, you can check it out here. Basically it’s a rip-off of the popular Taking Stock post, but with a fresh new twist. I didn’t think I would do another one like it; hence the lack of “take 1” in its title. But that was until I was bitten by the inspiration bug, and I just couldn’t turn down its brilliant idea.

This is the part where I try to convince you that this is absolutely the last one I’ll  ever do.
But I won’t.

So ladies and gents, here is a sneak peek into what I’m currently feeling.

Empathetic: towards people more nowadays. Recently I learnt the difference between empathy and sympathy through this cool video. According to it, empathy is trying to understand someone and their feelings. It’s about opening your mind to understand a perspective that is different from yours. Getting out of your own shoes and putting yourself in someone else’s. And then feeling with them. I think I’m starting to get the hang of it. I am now aware that it’s very crucial in keeping close relationships intact. Being empathetic has also helped me to understand people’s actions more clearly. You know, why they do what they do.

Hopeful: of meeting my favorite Kenyan writer again soon. Can you hear me Lady Luck?

Grateful: for the cool people I have met and hang out with this year. And let’s not even talk about the number of the events  I’ve attended in the past 2 months just because of them. Blessings have been poured, and I can really feel them. I think it’s safe to say that I’m finally living the (social) life I’ve always wanted.

Content: with the pace my life is going. Particularly my professional. To be honest with you, I’m not in a rush to become big, and have fans who are always looking forward to my work. Because it really isn’t about the fame and recognition. I think one of the greatest rewards you can ever get is the joy from doing what you love. And once you’re passionate about something – whether it’s playing basketball or writing articles – people tend to notice and appreciate it.

Happy: that I finally know what makes me feel truly happy and alive. Two things; the first is people. Of late I’ve come to realize that spending time with friends or family really fills me up with immense joy. Even a simple phone call has a way of planting this unerasable smile on my face. And the second one, is art. I have successfully proven that surrounding myself with art makes my heart dance. Whether it’s poetry, literature, music, fashion or visual art, it doesn’t matter. Art is the true food for my soul.

It is so refreshing to see young people embrace art in all aspects. They are working together to form groups and then performing all over the city. They are poets, photographers, musicians, artists, designers, and even writers. And let’s not forget the admirers who take time to attend various events so as to witness this emerging art. Kudos to all of you.

Oh, and this song makes me happy too 🙂

Thirsty: as I type down this post. Thirsty for water I mean, guys. (Reaches out for nearest water bottle.)

Disappointed: that some things are not going according to my plan. But patience is key, and I have to trust that they will eventually work out.

 

Proud: of what I accomplished so far in terms of writing. And of my writing style too. I know that I may not be the best in this niche. Probably not even in my clique. But I can be the best at being me.
You see, it is very tempting to compare yourself with others who are doing what you’re doing. Resist it. Why? Because you notice all the things they have that you don’t. This hinders you from seeing your own potential, and your small but significant achievements.
As Tabitha of Craving Yellow once said, “Don’t compare your page 2 with someone else’s page 200.” So there comes a time when you just have to forget what other people are doing. And focus on what you know you can do.

Inspired: to make more emotional posts, like this one.

Confident: for the first time in a long time. You see, I have always depended on friends to build up my self-confidence through encouraging words and the like. But I found out (the hard way) that you won’t always get that support you so crave for, even if you are generous with yours. Then it finally hit me.

Sometimes, you just have to believe in yourself first before others can. If you don’t, self-doubt creeps in fast. And self-doubt is a monster that needs to be fought every single day. If you let it, it can convince you that you will never catch those elusive dreams. And make you wonder if you’ve already reached your peak. That maybe it’s easier to just throw in the towel and quit. Because, what’s the point of giving it your all, and not succeeding?

But then again, what if you eventually will?

bright sunset

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Going through the emotions – take 2

  1. Thank you for sharing this inspiring piece with us… oh and now I understand the difference between empathy and sympathy thanks for that too. Those dance moves in the music video just made me happy :).

    Like

    1. You’re most welcome Wendi, I’m really glad that you were inspired.
      Hehe I agree, that video is too entertaining
      “You’ll never feel happy, until you try” 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

