Guess whose Birthday it is

birthday cake

Happy birthday to you, Happy birthday to you, Happy birthday LaMusicJunkiee… Happy birthday to you!

How old are you now?

ONE!

How old are you now… Okay, you get the drift. Guys, it’s our first anniversary! Like how exciting is this? Birthdays have a way of bringing up all these giddy feelings that are totally unnecessary. But what can you do? Sometimes you just have to buy cake and go with it.

Exactly one year ago I published the first post on LaMusicJunkie. September 15, 2015. It was all about the summer songs of the year; which is funny because summer just begun here in Kenya. You can check out the summer music post for old times sake. And to see how things have changed in merely one year.

LaMusicJunkie started out as a strict music blog. Actually, it was first called LaMusicFreak. But I changed the name a few days later, for obvious reasons of course.

So yeah, the blog was exclusively about music. I remember our first tagline placed on the pink header up there. “Let’s Talk Music”.

In the beginning there was Joy. And Joy had so many ideas whirling in her head she couldn’t ran out of content. It was great. No weekly schedules. Posting happened spontaneously when inspiration struck. No clear direction for the blog either. All she wanted was to let out all these crazy musical ideas before they drove her mad.
Ah, good ol’ days.

Since then, taglines have been exchanged every other month. And the About Me section has been edited more times than I can remember. If you look at it now, I bet it’s different from the last time you read it.

You might remember that one time we had a breakdown last year. I suddenly felt lost and unmotivated to blog. While trying to figure out the cause, I didn’t post anything new for one whole month. On that November LaMusicJunkie was as dry as a kitchen tap disconnected by Nairobi Water Company. Even spiders made shelter on the four corners of this deserted website.

But God is a good God (yes he is). I finally came back a month later, though still unsure of what I was doing here. The grand comeback was a non-musical article. It was real and personal, something I’d never done before on the blog. By the end of the year, I had figured out what was wrong and what I wanted. A new direction.

So 2016 started out as the year of freedom. I didn’t restrict myself to just music despite the rules and whatnot. Instead I let myself be free. I shared my life lessons with you including as personal stories of pain and joy. I even told you about my new interests, from yoga to tennis. I was simply being me. And it was goddamn liberating.

These past 12 months have been one unexpected roller coaster. Lots of ups and downs, especially on the statistics page. I don’t know why writers are so obsessed with checking stats. I mean, we could do it every other hour of the day. Studying the highs and lows of the blog traffic graph. I guess that’s why they occasionally give us the middle finger.

What has been the biggest highlight for me as a blogger writer? Well, it was definitely when I met Biko for the first time at a local hospital. One of the biggest surprises of the year actually. Immediately after the encounter, I was dying to share the story with you, and I did. Share that is.

You guys must have loved it as it is still one of the most popular posts on the blog. In fact, I owe JB for the highest traffic we’ve gotten here. The longest middle finger is from him. Some of you are reading this because of bikozulu.

A lot of articles written over the months never got to meet your eyes. They were either outdated, or simply not good enough. The posts I didn’t expect to be favorites are the ones you loved. And the ones which I thought were great, well you know…

I won’t lie, there are plenty times I thought of quitting this gig. I mean who cares what the Music Junkie has to say in 1000 words, or more? Si their lives would still continue smoothly without LaMusicJunkie? They can always find about new music and upcoming events somewhere else, right?

But you told me no. To keep on writing. You said you liked what I did, at least most of it. So I focused on that, and tried to forget the ignored articles. After all, not all of your work will become hits. Even musicians know that.

Like many jobs, owning a blog is an emotional affair. In the brief one year journey, long periods of miserable self-doubt were never amiss. We wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for encouragement from fellow writers who go through the same issues.

I also try to remind myself the reason I started this. It’s not to become famous; I actually enjoy writing. It’s cathartic. Relieves my soul. Makes me feel free. So if this post only gets 30 views, I’m cool. Because hey, 30 people read my work!

And so here I am. Typing this on my laptop on a Thursday morning. (Well Google Docs to be precise). Now focused on sharing my favorite underrated music with you. I also love to update friends and strangers alike on cool upcoming events via my social pages. For I am, the music and entertainment guide. A girl’s gotta have a niche, sindio.

I appreciate all you music junkies for coming on this bumpy ride with me for the past year. There’s still no ambitious goal for this blog, sijui win a BAKE award or something. Naah. LaMusicJunkie is just about expressing ourselves in our small community – what we love and what we don’t. But mostly the former. It’s what makes us feel good that matters.

On that note, birthday party is at my house! Hurry while cake lasts. I should mention I have a very strong weakness for cake, so don’t say I didn’t warn you.

6 thoughts on “Guess whose Birthday it is

  1. if i told you that sometimes I just wake up on a Saturday, from an afternoon nap and be like, “it’s been long since I checked music junky’s blog” and then I enter your url on my Google search and be all happy to find a new post I haven’t read, and a super long one for that matter, would you believe me? hehe anyway, happy birthday to the blog… it’s still its birthday, no?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow. It’s such an honor to know that you keep the blog in your thoughts, even after a Saturday nap (wipes tears)
      Thank you so much for being part of the music junkies. Happy birthday to us!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy birthday! Your blog is so amazing, and Anon is right, your posts make our days.
    I relate with this so much, my own blog is approaching one too and I’m a horrible mess of emotions-all the feels, all the feels😂😂😂
    Happy birthday, and here’s to many more!🍸

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s a pity I stopped by several months late. Anyway this piece is fantastic and very real…… The highs and lows of blogging…er… Writing. I realized that if you are in this for stats and mind boggling traffic, you ain’t going to reach far. Good work 👌

    Like

    1. Welcome to LaMusicJunkie. Better late than never!
      I wish I knew that earlier, to focus on the journey and not the results. I now know.
      Thanks for the kind words; comments like this encourage me to write more.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

