10 Songs of 2016 

Have you ever heard a song that just won’t get out of your brain? You try get rid of it but it just won’t budge? Like that earworm in Spongebob Squarepants.

The only way to survive is to listen and sing along to it every other minute, until it drives you and others crazy. People at this point tend to call you obsessed.

Well I am not ashamed to say it. I have been obsessed this year. With not one, or three, but ten different songs. The best part is they were all ear catching in their unique way.

Let’s take a walk down memory lane. Here are 10 songs that made 2016 great (again).

1. Adventure of a lifetime

This was the first single off Coldplay’s seventh album A Head Full of Dreams. And it blew my socks away. From the well-choreographed apes to the old school sound, it was that feel good song that made you wanna get up and dance .

2. Death of a Bachelor

Panic! at the Disco, please come and receive your award for the most addictive song of the year. I seriously thought I was going crazy as I couldn’t go a day without listening to or singing this song in my head. Hunky Brendon Urie is forever and unconditionally bae.

3. Down in the DM

Most ratchet song of 2016, no? Even though you are a saint and the complete opposite of player, you couldn’t help but jam to this catchy song and hilarious video by Yo Gotti. It truly goes down in the DM.

4. Stressed Out

This unexpected hit song reminded the world that an American duo called Twenty one pilots exists. And not every artiste sings about the same old love themes we hear on radio. Stressed Out has a message that most of us newly recruited adults can seriously relate to. Growing up is hard!
It even compelled some of us to listen to their glorious album Blurryface.

5. Back to sleep

This was probably the sexiest song of the year. Its was a winner with the old school vibe Chris Brown stuck to in his 2015 Royalty album, and the suggestive lyrics to top it off. I bet many adults had fun with this sultry song.

6. Hold Up

During my first watch of the visual album Lemonade, I knew this was a great song. And it is.
The slow tempo beat – a unique fusion of R&B and Caribbean – brings the focus to Queen Bey’s raspy voice and heartfelt lyrics. And the part she does a short Countdown preview just kills it. This is no doubt my favorite song off her sixth album. I even did a short cover (and failed miserably).

Her favorite is “All Night”, understandably.

It’s true Bey, they don’t love you like I love you.

7. Wherever I go

This was the 2016 comeback song of one of the coolest bands on the planet. There was a time I was convinced “Wherever I go” was the song of the year, just by how obsessed I was by the lively song and video by OneRepublic. It definitely wins song of the summer for me.

No easy love could ever make me feel the same.

8. I remember

2016 was also the year of AlunaGeorge. The UK duo released hit after hit that was played all over the world, but I remember – the title track of their sophomore album – was my favorite of all of them. Is it Aluna’s sweet mellow voice? Flume’s beautiful beats? Or the relatable lyrics? Maybe it’s all of the above.
If you ever need a song to remind you of a past love, this is it.

I do remember

9. Feeling Irie

Yup, LaMusicJunkie went reggae this year, with the help of Jamaican singer Jah9. She even came all the way to Kenya in September to perform her conscious music.This particular song makes you feel all kinds of irie inside. (That means better than good).

(Books next flight to Jamaica)

10. Never be like you

Flume showed the world why we need to pay attention to his experimental music. 2016 will be remembered as the year the Australian producer broke out with his first hit featuring Canadian singer Kai. This song is enchanting in so many ways, I suspect some drugs may have been slipped into it.

Happy holidays! Let’s meet next year for more obsession-inducing songs, only here at LaMusicJunkie.

2 thoughts on “10 Songs of 2016 

  1. Wow, I think I found my new obsession for the remainder of 2016 and possibly for a chunk of 2017 too. Jah9’s Irie… It has a lot of good vibes and what better way to complete the year. Thank you for sharing your 2016 Song Obsessions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

