10 Kenyan Gospel Songs that will Make You Miss the 2000s

I bet what you must be wondering. Has The Music Junkie gone Christian? Did she suddenly become religious? What about this post she wrote on the truth about religion? Is she really going back on her words?

Well, to be honest, I really don’t have answers for you. In fact, I am Jon Snow. I know nothing at all.

*cues Game of Thrones (Season 7) soundtrack*

But for the past few weeks, I’ve strangely been drawn to Christian songs. And not just any but Kenyan gospel songs that we grew up with in the 2000s. What I loved about them, and I’m sure many people did, is they were simple and straight to the point.

They were also free of all the glam and social media fame you see nowadays. It wasn’t about how many hits you got on YouTube, but the deep spiritual message you were sending. Maybe that’s why they are still so memorable.

Remember the animated video of dancing sunflowers singing Tumshukuruni Bwana by Reuben Kagame? Who’d periodically look at you and flash a smile at the camera? Aah, good times.

Sunflower singing Tumshukuruni Bwana
Hey mum. I’m on TV!!!

Initially, I wanted to combine the old school with the few real gospel songs of our time. But the old has too much gold; I almost got lost in the music archives guys.

So let me give you 10 old school Kenyan gospel songs that will take you way back in time. From the original Mercy Masika to Kanjii Mbugua when HD cameras were still a rumor. Know what, I bet your mom was still cooking chapatis on Sundays when you first heard these jams.

P.S. Please don’t blame me if these Swahili gospel songs get stuck on replay in your head for the rest of the week.

If there’s something I’ve learned in these past few weeks, it’s that you don’t have to be a Christian to know who God is.

2 thoughts on “10 Kenyan Gospel Songs that will Make You Miss the 2000s

Leave a Reply

